GUEST POST By – Stacey Kennedy USA Today Bestselling Author

 

 

I’m so thrilled to be visiting Curious Bluster today – thank you for having me! I thought I’d chat about the evil part of writing. Every author will have a part of the process they loathe. It could be the beginning of a story, the middle, or the end. It could even be the editing process. As much as authors love writing stories, no story is without a little headache and a few curse words along the way.

So when do I want to stab my story to death? The beginning is my archenemy – more specifically, the first three chapters. While writing a story, I will go back and tweak those first few chapters over and over again.

Annoying, right?

Well, not even close. Just when I think I’m finished the story, I send it off to my critique partner and get some space from the story, which I do feel is so important. If I get a couple weeks away from a story and go back to it, I always see things that I didn’t notice before.

Distance is a good thing, I always say.

Though with that distance, I’ll find little things that drive me nutty. So, again, I’m off tweaking and rewriting those first few chapters. One would think after this I would be finished with the story, right?

Nope. Not even close.

Once the book gets into my editor’s hands, we typically do two rounds of content edits. As I’m working through them I’m still changing what I have in those early chapters. Perhaps I’m a bit of a perfectionist, though you’d never hear me say that aloud.

It’s not until copy edits where I find myself happy with those slightly evil three chapters. I put more work into those early chapters then I do any other part of the book. I would have thought that process would change with experience, but after four years of writing I still find the first three chapters the hardest to write.

Though it truly doesn’t matter what part of the writing process you find the hardest, it always seems to come together at the end, doesn’t it? So my advice to anyone who’s having trouble with a certain part of their story is: distance helps and keep tweaking until you can’t tweak no more. That’s when you know you got it right!!

Happy writing, all!

Find out more about Stacey Kennedy at www.staceykennedy.com  stacey ken

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kerrianne Coombes
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 08:15:02

    Its so funny. I LOVE the first chapters. Its the middle that struggle with, and have to edit over and over… I fond the beginning, i am pumped and excited to write it, so it flows like water… SO weird the different things we struggle with. Thanks for coming on CB today xx *Big kisses*

    Reply

  2. Holly J Gill
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 08:20:56

    What a great post Stacey, I can relate to your process very well, and I always find taking breaks and leaving a manuscript is a good idea, especially once finished and then a few months later go back, and it’s amazing what you find and change and nothing wrong with being a perfectionist. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Dawné Dominique
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 21:25:13

    Stacey, you’ve just described my writing style. And here I thought I was the only one. *chuckles* No matter how many times I walk away and then go back to re-tweak…I’ll still find something along the way. I’ve been called “the revision Queen” more times than I can count. The worst is when I’m holding my print in my hand and it’s released…and something else jumps out at me. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

