The Good Guy — Amanda Ward

I’ve always LOVED the good guy. He seems to be overlooked. Quiet, reserved, always waiting in the wings for the woman he adores to finally realise he is the one for her. For instance, Michael Carrington in Grease 2. Adam Kendall in Little House on the Prairie. Mike Young in Neighbours and of course my first ever crush, Jonesy in The Waltons. As I’ve grown older, I have not so secret pash’s for Clark Gregg (Agent Coulson), Richard Armitage (Harry in the Vicar of Dibley) and not forgetting Scott Patterson who played Luke Danes in the Gilmore Girls. Not only are they handsome for their age, but the characters they play have personality traits that I find downright sexy.

They may not be exuding raw sexuality and animal magnetism that appeal to most women. I’m not most women. I find their steadfastness, loyalty, humour and commitment is sexier than an overconfident man standing in front of you, wearing nothing. Hands on hips as if to say ‘Well, what do you think?’ I guess my answer to that would be “If you can make it dance then I’d be more than impressed” I’m very lucky in that my husband is a good guy. If for one minute the good guy is perfect, no way. Believe me, the good guys have their bad points and strange quirks.

I have to be honest, I’ve never met an alpha male. Or if I have, I’ve certainly not recognised it. Never dated a bad boy either. Have I been missing something? So, as an author, I don’t write about Alpha males, or overtly confident men. I tend to write heroes I want to fall in love with, faults and all. For me a relationship is based on love and tolerance for everything that person is, no matter how much a certain person complains about blue fluff on every surface.

So here I am one Friday evening, and my friend has lent me Buffy the Vampire Slayer. A single episode stands out. The musical Once More with Feeling. I’m enjoying the music, and then what happens…Spike (James Marsters) appears, sings and gets down on his knees telling Buffy she has ‘a willing slave’. Oh dear merciful heavens. Have I finally succumbed to the bad boy? It turns out no. As you follow through to the final episode, he turns out to be a good guy after all. A disappointment? No way. The only disappointment for me was the absence of chest hair.

So here are my good guys. I hope you like them as much as I drool…I mean do!

UntitledUntitled.png2 Untitled.png3

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Author
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 16:14:23

    I like a good guy and married one but I have dated a couple of bad boys- nothing criminal but they were definitely edgy – the ones I dated were tough on the outside but softies on the inside! Jillian

    Reply

Leave a Reply

