Lacie Nation

 

Hello, I’m Lacie Nation. You probably don’t know me, but I hope to change that. Let me start by telling you a little about myself. I’m a true southern bell, born and raised in the great state of Georgia. I got married on March 1st 2014. We bought a house at the same time so to say things were stressful for a while would be an understatement. I write contemporary romance novels that I hope make you cry. HAHA I know that sounds horrible, but if I can rip emotion out of a reader then I’ve done my job. My work includes So Beautifully Broken, Courageous Dare, Gravity Beach, Silent Tears, and The Weeping Willow Tree.

When I begin writing a book, it normally starts as just a flash of a scene in my head. I write that scene down and a story grows from it. I don’t plot for the most part. The only thing I plan out is how to write that initial scene and the rest of the story grows from there. Some days the words flow like water while other days it’s all I can do not to throw my computer across the room. When writer’s block is an issue, I try and make up the cover, because I normally make my own book covers, so that when I’m stuck I have something visual to look at.

The process of creating a book is both frustrating and rewarding. Frustrating because I have never been good with waiting and there is a lot of waiting. Waiting for an acceptance or heaven forbid a rejection. Then, if it is accepted I wait for it to go to editing, then the editor to do his or her magic. There are many editing rounds…and I do mean many. Once editing is done…finally, then it goes to a proof reader, and finally I get the final product. Did I mention how many times I have to read my books during all this? No? Well, it’s a freaking lot! By the time that final draft comes around and I have to read it yet again I am actually kind of sick or if. HAHA.

That being said, once I see my work on the websites is where the rewarding part comes into play. Seeing something I’ve put my heart and soul into, that started with one little scene in my head, is now a novel out there for the world to see. I know I’ll never be able to please everyone, but if I can just make one person feel something from reading my work, then all that waiting and frustration was worth it. I don’t expect to get rich from my books. I don’t write for the money, I write because I love creating my own little world.

So, that, in a nut shell, is what it’s like for me to write a book.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Author
    Jul 21, 2014 @ 14:11:33

    Hi Lacey! Great post!! Jillian

    Reply

Leave a Reply

