Meet The Editor

 

Hi all! I’m Tamara Hoffa, the resident editor in the corner at Curious Bluster

And I’ll tell you, we editors do often find ourselves in the corner!

Don’t get me wrong, I actually love editing, almost as much as I love writing. I enjoy helping my fellow authors make their stories shine, but it’s a fine line we editors walk. If we help too much, are we trying to change the author’s vision? The fundamentals are easy to fix: Grammar, punctuation, spelling, wrong words… but when you get to content, the issues can become complicated. Sometimes it’s a matter of content, and something that happens just doesn’t make sense. Sometimes it’s a matter of character motivation. Would John really do that? He doesn’t seem like that kind of man to me? Showing vs Telling. We’re all familiar with that (I hope) But, where it really gets sticky is when the plot isn’t working. When the author is information dumping in one chapter, giving away too much of the plot too soon, or the dialogue is stilted and boring. How do you tell an author these things without making them curl into a little ball in the fetal position and crying?

Communication! Communication between the editor and author is key to a great relationship. Just like in romance, miscommunication is a death knoll! I’ve been very lucky to work with some wonderful authors. Some of them take my advice, some don’t, but they always know the final decisions are theirs. It IS their book after all! But they all know, I don’t pull my punches. I’m not going to blow sunshine up your ass and tell you how great you are. That’s not my job. My job is to make you and your book shine, so if you write manure, I’m gonna tell you it’s cow shit and move on. On the plus side, if you write a line or scene I love, I’m going to tell you that too.

Writing is a process, that’s why we call our first draft rough.

The best advise I’ve received as an author is “grow a thick skin.”

Because, believe you me, you’re gonna need it! Rejection, editing, proofing and then the reviews. Gah! If you cry at every criticism, You’re going to spend a lot of time in that corner (It’s not so bad, it’s quiet and dark there)

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beverly Ovalle
    Jul 17, 2014 @ 16:00:36

    I agree, it’s a nice corner!

    Reply

  2. S.J. Maylee
    Jul 17, 2014 @ 20:30:17

    I’m not sure what I’d do without my betas and editors. I’m working my way through a critique right now. While reading her notes I was like, she’s crazy. On a second read through it changed to, she’s totally right. 🙂 Now, I’m having fun figuring out the ways to fix it. I love this part, making great changes that you couldn’t have found on your own.

    Lol, Beverly. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Author
    Jul 21, 2014 @ 14:12:16

    Love my editors! They are my heroes! Jillian

    Reply

Leave a Reply

