Cover Artist Vs. Published Author

Post By Dawne Dominique

A lot of people may be familiar with my name as a cover artist, but did you know that I’m also a published author of ten years? Unfortunately, I’m not synonymous in the two aspects of the publishing world. In other words, I’m known more for my cover art than my books.  You’d think the two would do hand in hand, but they don’t.  I started out my writing career as a fantasy writer, where world building and character development are tantamount to creating believability in fantasy fiction. People who have read my books, whether they’re fantasy, paranormal, or erotic romance, has told me that they read like a movie.  In other words, they feel my characters; they walk within the worlds I’ve I created; but more than that, they actually care about what happens. So I’ve obviously done something right.  But the icing on the cake for any author is to entice readers to read their books.  That’s where I come in. I create the initial  visual selling tool—the book cover art.

When I get a cover art request from one of the publishers I work for or the many Indie authors I represent, all I have to work from is a paragraph sized description and/or a  brief synopsis.  No matter what the genre, after reading that paragraph, more times than not, a cover will pop into my head.  It’s those authors who tell me to “run with it” is when I have the most fun.

Creating art from a mere paragraph blurb is challenging, but life would be so boring without them. Now if only I could sell as many books as the numerous book covers I create.

You can check out my work at:

www.dusktildawnDesigns.com

www.dawnedominique.com

www.dthomasjerlo.com

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dawné Dominique
    Jul 28, 2014 @ 06:10:04

    *chuckles* You didn’t get the “revised” post wherein I had corrected the grammatical errors? *blushes*

    Reply

  2. Kerrianne Coombes
    Jul 28, 2014 @ 07:22:34

    Oh My!!! I am so sorry.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

